Lavish Fashion Fantasies

 

I am a “Fashion Fantasizer”. There I admit it. You probably have no clue what that term means, well that’s because I just made it up. But hear me out. Gone are the days when we had to physically go to the mall and “window shop” and fantasize about all the amazing expensive pieces we wish we could add to our wardrobe closet. Nowadays, we don’t “window shop” we (insert lame joke here) “screen shop”.

I personally enjoy perusing the web for items I wish I was willing and able to splurge on. This may sound silly, but I like to think of “screen shopping” as a therapeutic activity. I believe it’s a fun and relaxing activity for us fashionistas to engage in when we’re stressed. Below are my three favorite ridiculously expensive fashion finds for this month.

Valentino Long-Sleeve Embroidered Bambolina Dress:

Valentino Long-Sleeve Embroidered Bambolina Dress

Valentino is one of my favorite designers, thus it’s no surprise that I immediately fell in love with this dress the moment I saw it online. This dress is from Valentinos’ Spring 2014 collection. Perhaps I am drawn to this dress because of my African background. From my perspective, this looks like an African/Egyptian/ Aztec inspired dress. The vibrant colors and geometric patterns on this dress are quite mesmerizing. I love the hints of coral, gold and black; the color combination of this dress is completely unexpected. The Bambolina dress has the following features:

  •  Sheer embroidered dress
  • Fishnet mesh with multicolor embroidery
  • Round neckline; long sleeves.
  • Full, flared circle skirt
  • Hidden back zip
  •  Fluted hem hits mid-thigh
  • Cotton/nylon/polyester
  •  Silk organza lining
  •  Made in Italy

This dress can be purchased at Neiman Marcus. It can be yours today for a whopping $6,690. Any takers?

The Infamous Hermes Birkin Bag:

bag 2bag threebag

I absolutely love the simplicity and the quality of these bags. The French fashion powerhouse, Hermes produces the Birkin bag. Hermes named the bag after British actress Jane Birkin in 1984. We’ve all seen this bag on the arms of celebrities everywhere and we’ve also seen the knock off versions in the fashion alleys of Downtown, Los Angeles. If you haven’t already researched how you can possibly get your hands on this bag, well you are in for one heck of a surprise. As it turns out, these bags cost anywhere from $9,000-$34,000 or more. Not to mention, you have to be a VIP to be able to get the inside scoop on how to even purchase one of these bags.

As a potential buyer, you have to go through a certain process in order to add the infamous Birkin to your collection of bags. Most of the time, as “shady” as this may sound; you have to find a local Birkin dealer. In most instances, you have to know somebody, who knows somebody and so on, to get a hold of these dealers. If you live in France, you can easily just visit the local Hermes store, and look like you’re able to afford a $34,000 bag….meaning dress the part(because we all know what happened to Oprah when she attempted to buy an expensive bag) and ask for one. The shop associates typically have the bags in the back room.

Christian Louis Vuitton’s Five Shades of Nude Collection:

Christian-louboutin-Pigalle-Maya-1

 

Christian-louboutin-Pigalle-Safki-1Christian-louboutin-Pigalle-Ada-1

Christian-louboutin-Pigalle-Nats-1Christian-louboutin-Pigalle-Lea-1

How many of you have trouble purchasing the right shade of nude heels? This is a major issue for me as I am an African-American female. I actually have no problem wearing traditional (beige) nude heels if it compliments my outfit. However, the whole purpose of wearing nude shoes is so that you are able to achieve the slimming, leg lengthening look. However, this particular objective is hard to accomplish if your nude shoes don’t match your skin tone.

Thankfully, last year, Louis Vuitton realized that this was an issue that most women face and created the Five Shades of Nude limited edition collection. Just like the name suggests, this collection consists of five shades of nude heels that are supposed to match a variety of skin tones. The shoes are no longer available on Louis Vuitton’s’ official site, but you can probably find it at a different retailer or ebay if your desperate to find them. These shoes will cost you anywhere from $625-$1000 and up.

Although, these items are tempting to purchase, I am not willing to purchase them nor am I able to (I mean for goodness sakes I’m only a college student). However it’s nice to fantasize about owning them.

What are some overly expensive pieces that you wish you had in your closet?

Until next time….And remember always dare to be chic <3.

Standard

Leave a Reply

